top of page

What I eat in a day - higher carbs

Today is Monday 20th March, showing you my first ever 'what I eat in a day'

Over the past two years I have dipped in and out of IIFYM (if it fits your macros). For those who don't know what 'macros' are, they are your 'macronutrients', the three major nutrients your body needs: protein, carbohydrates and fat. Your macros are unique to your body weight, height, activity levels and goals. I always use the IIFYM - Calculator to calculate my macros. Anyway... this post isn't about explaining IIFYM, I just wanted to mention it as I will show you the macros of what I ate, so whether you know IIFYM or not, the calories and macros might interest you.

I also tap in and out of intermittent fasting - where you fast for a certain amount of hours, and then have an 'eating window'. Today, I counted my macros and fasted, however will do another blog post explaining my experience with IIFYM & intermittent fasting soon.

12:30pm - Breakfast - Pre-workout

Egg-white mocha proats (protein oats) with fruit and coffee.

Yes I did wait untill 12:30pm to eat my first meal (intermittent fasting), because no I do not believe you HAVE to eat breakfast at the crack of dawn, I simply like to eat when I get hungry

Today was leg day which means only one thing... CARBS ON CARBS

So for my pre-workout I kept it carb heavy, with moderate protein and low fat.

I usually eat oats for a postworkout and add some chocolate, but I am ever so proud that I kept it simple and 'un-chocolatified'

438cals | 55gCarbs | 32gProtein | 8gFat

4:30pm - Lunch - Post-workout

Tuna, rice and broccoli (you will soon realise that I put ketchup on most things)

This is my one of my favorite post-workout meals, it's so quick and easy to make (I use microwavable rice)

I wanted to keep carbs high again, with moderate protein and less fats.

I also drink BCAA'S (branched-chain amino acid) just to assist in repairing the muscles and preventing muscle loss.

560cals | 88gCarbs | 40gProtein | 4gFat

7:00pm - Dinner

Chicken, peanut butter on toast and green beans

I know what your thinking, 'what a wired dinner', ha yes it is, but it's what a fancied.

Chicken and peanut butter does actually go really well together, it's just satay chicken really! Seeing as it was further away from my workout, I added some fats into my meal.

519cals | 24gCarbs | 54gProtein | 21gFat

8:30pm - Pre-bed

3 plain salted rice cakes, 1 rice cake with peanut butter and strawberries, and 2 slices of ham

268cals | 39gCarbs |13gProtein | 6gFat

Snacks

Mini twix finger - 125cals | 16gCarbs |1gProtein | 6gFat

Peanutbutter kit kat bites x 3 - 91cals | 11gCarbs | 1gProtein | 5gFat

I track all of my foods on MyFitnessPal, for those who don't know what that app which allows you to enter and track your foods.

In total, today I have eaten 2000cals | 233gCarbs |141gProtein | 50gFat ---> and thats a ratio of:

45%C 29%P 23%F

2000 calories is actually rather low for me atm on leg day, ideally I would have liked 2150 - 2250, but hay ho... I wanted to see what I was eating without trying to hit a goal, to see where about's I am naturally eating.

So that concludes what a day of eating looks like for me

Let me know if you would like more of 'what I eat in a day blogs' maybe next time I could do a lower carb higher fat day? Let me know :)

bottom of page