top of page

Fruity Preworkout Pancakes

What more could you want for breakfast on the weekend other than pancakes !? Okay and a bacon and egg sandwich...

My pancakes turn out different every-time as I do not stick to set ingredients. I firstly decide whether I want a carb or protein heavy pancake, or for it to be decently equal, and then I just wack in the ingredients accordingly. The carb/protein ratio will depend on what I will be training at the gym...

Typically:

High carb, low protein - leg day

Decently equal - any type of upper body day (back, bi's & shoulders)

Low carb, high protein - cardio and core day (when I actually do cardio that is)

However I do mix up my training sometimes.

The day I consumed these pancakes I was preparing to do dead-lifts for the first time in ages, so I wanted a good amount of carbs and opted for a 'decently equal' ratio of carbs and protein. I then went on to train core and perform some LISS (Low Intensity Steady State) cardio.

Ingredients for the pancakes: (not including toppings)

- 1 whole egg

- 2 egg whites (77g)

-40g mornflake oats

-25g vanilla MyProtein powder

-50g banana

-85% cocoa powder

-Splash of milk

-Baking powder

Place all of the above ingredients into a blender, and blend for 30 seconds or so (I have the Breville blend-active blender)

Heat up the frying-pan - I use the fry light1cal spray, although I spray it about 10 times

I made enough for two pancakes, however you can always make one and have a thicker pancake, or you can pour less mixture, and make a few more smaller pancakes.

Once cooked, you can add the toppings - I added:

-50g banana

-20g frozen berries

-10g musclenuts peanutbutter

-caramel syrup (0cal 0gsugar)

Overall the pancakes come in at:

523calories, 50g Carbs - 15g Sugar - 16g Fat - 43g Protein

Obviously, a coffee is ALWAYS needed for pre-workout

bottom of page