top of page

Mocha Protein Waffles

Why have a boring pre-workout when you can have waffles??

Depending on what my workout will be, will depend on the amount of carbs I will have in my pre-workout. If i train legs, I will have a carb heavy pre-workout, like a bowl of oats, with fruit/cereal, roughly 70/80g carbs with less protein, maybe 30g? IDK differs every time.

On a non leg day, I will lower the carbs and up the protein.

On this occasion, it was an upper body day, so these waffles contained : 517 Cals 50g carbs, 40g protein 16g fat.

Ingredients for 3 waffles:

1 whole egg

1 egg whites (about 35g)

40g oats

30g protein (My Protein - Mocha flavour)

1/2 banana

Splash of milk

Mix all the above ingredients into one bowl.

I use the fry light 1cal spay for more or less 90% of my cooking. I used this to spray the waffle maker to avoid the mixture sticking to the iron plates, and to help cook the mixture.

Pour the 2/3 of the mixture onto the iron plates, not too thickly as the mixture will expand whilst cooking.

Leave for about 4/5 minutes, you can open the waffle maker and check on the progress of the waffles, you can leave for longer if you feel it is necessary.

Once the first two are ready, take them off and put them onto a plate, and then pour the rest of the mixture onto only one of the iron squares.

Once the 3rd one is cookedplace it with the other two waffles, and now for the best bit... add your toppings.

I added:

1/2 banana

1 handfull of frozen raspberries

15g of Lotus biscoff spread

Slender Shef caramel syrup (0cal 0sugar)

As pre-workout, I obviously had coffee too!

bottom of page