top of page

Foam Rolling - how it's changing my life and can change yours too

Okay I agree the title is a bit extreme, but its true, and here's why ...

Considering I lift weights 5/6 times a week, I am not surprised my lack of stretching, foam rolling, warming up or warming down had a negative affect on my body.

I have had lower back pain for some time, however, since the beginning of 2017, it really became a problem as it was not only affecting my back, but my legs also...

I started to experience tingling, numbness and weakness in my left leg, and my lower back pain would stop me from working out, it would almost reduce me to tears! However, my lower back pain only appeared in the gym, once I got home I was fine (more or less).

I was so frustrated, I hated my body for letting me down, for stopping me from completing my workouts, for confusing the living day lights out of me... Enough was enough, I finally seeked help with the physio therapist at my gym.

Lee (the therapist) explained to me that my tightness was causing prolonged pressure upon the femoral nerve (one of the largest nerves going down your leg to your foot), and this was affecting the blood flow. My sciatic nerve (another large and important nerve) was also being affected. What this means is that the extreeme tightness mainly in my glutes, was causing the problems in my back and left leg.

So after the physiotherapy session, I began to educate myself on everything Lee had told me about my body, tightness and nerves, as well as 'self-myofascial release' (self-releasing the tight muscles and trigger points in your body).

So, that's when I bought a foam roller, and no joke, it's changed my life.

I also began to locate my tigger points or 'knots', and massage them again and again with baby oil, this can cause some discomfort though. I experienced pain referral (and still do), this is where you apply pressure on one part of your body, but it is radiated to another, for example, when I would massage my gluteus medias (large muscle in your upper buttox), I would feel a funny sensation above my kneecap.

So, how is it changing my life?

Foam rolling, stretching and massaging my trigger points have:

- Reduced my back pain massively (although not 100% gone) - I have less flare ups

- I can complete every workout

- Reduced left leg sensations (again, not totally gone yet) - only flares up once in a while and it's only mild when it does occur

- WAY softer glutes

- Less tightness - this means my mobility has greatly improved, which means I can squat deeper and do it more comfortably (what more in life could you want?)

- I wake up with less DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness)

- I recover quicker

How can it change my life?

In any of the same ways it has changed my life. Everyone has different tight areas and annoying trigger points: shoulders, calves, back to name a few, the list can go on, but wherever the build up is, when you release that tension, you not only feel more relaxed and mobile, your pain will also be reduced.

I cannot explain how different my body feels and how over the moon I am that I can actually finish leg day, and complete a set of dead-lifts without having to go home after.

If you are experiencing muscle soreness or tightness, or if your the 'I know I should stretch more but I don't' type, just buy one - mine was only £5 from Home Sense. Once you've bought one, watch a YouTube video or two on how to foam roll and how to target the areas you need the most... and then just start, roll with it (excuse the pun) your body will thank you later

bottom of page